You Can Write as Many Books as You Want–At One Time

The one thing I love about teaching others is I learn so much about myself as well. During my blogging session, after the workshop, a guest came up and had a conversation with me. Within that conversation they stated how they tend to write more than one story at a time and felt as if that was wrong to do (as if it was a writing sin.)

That comment made me feel so relieved because that is exactly what I do. I told them there is absolutely nothing wrong with writing more than one book at a time. As long you don’t mix up your characters and stories, you can write as many stories as you can think.

Writing numerous stories at one time has helped me with writer’s block. I don’t get any symptoms (knock on wood). Since I am in the process of writing a trilogy, it would make sense I am writing more than one story at a time. I am also writing an adult fiction so when I get tired of writing about four human teenagers helping thier two alien friends defeat the Saturians who invaded Glitron, I can switch to a married friend of a stripper contemplating if she is going to sleep with her husband’s client.

The ability to do more than one job at a time is part of human nature. We all put down on our resumes ‘ability to multi-task,’ so why can’t we have the ability to multi-write?

Do you write more than one story at a time? Do you think it is writing etiquette to do so? I’d love to hear what you think.

 

About Aliefwrites

Alison enjoys writing about topics that can inspire and help others in their journey of becoming a writer or blogger. She is an editor, proofreader, writer, and graphic designer. She loves crafts and planning big event parties and is in the process of writing her sci-fi trilogy The Elements.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

