I Allowed Five Things to Interrupt My Writing Time

PART OF: So You Want to Write a Book Series

Most writers I know, who has a full-time job, would love to have at least one hour to be able to sit down and let their writing juices flow. The goal to set aside time to write is something that can be achieved but we must be aware of foreseen interruptions.

I was able to set apart four straight days just for that reason. My fabulous writing streak was suppposed to start on Thursday afternoon and end Sunday.Coming home from my job early, the plan was to catch up on all the informational blogs and magazines, I didn’t have a chance to read, as well as continue writing my book. Monday I specifically scheduled for future webinars, tutorials, and conferences I will hold in 2017. The crazy part about this entire schedule was I actually allocated time for interruptions (considering the house if full with three Minnie Me’s running around) that may occur. Never had I thought those interruptions would leave me at the end of my four day hiatus, with only nine hours to get four days’ worth of work accomplished.

Now we all know the start to a great explanation begins with “Well what had happen was…”

Interruption one: Thursday-School Closing

schoolclosed9616If I received one dollar for every Facebook post I saw of the blizzard of January 2016, I would be able to buy a new car. While everyone was welcoming the blizzard as an opportunity to get work done, I had to tend to the children being home from school. Although the snow hadn’t fallen yet, the “I’m bored,” “Can we watch a movie?” “Can you play with me,” demands started as soon as I came home from work.

Despite me explaining to them this is ‘Mommy time’, I still had to feed, tend, and supervise them. I took this as an opportunity to use my interruption time and get some housework done as well, then back to my planned schedule.

Interruption 2: Friday-Jobs Closing Early

Friday was better planned. I knew the children would be home again (and this time it did actually start to snow) so I had movies, games, food, and books-of course- set up for them to do. It was after I placed the last bowl of cereal on the table for breakfast that my husband said “I’ll be home by 1PM today.” This meant I had a few hours to get a little bit of reading or writing in before I had to pick him up from the bus depot and deal with whatever family issues he was about to assign me with. Although he knew how excited I was to get these four days to myself, I knew there would be something he too would like to accomplish with the time he was allotted (and we only have one computer in the house).

I was able to read a few post and use some more of my ‘interrupted time’ slot before my plans were changed. I figured I will do the college thing and pull an all-nighter, but that idea went flop at 11PM when I crashed due to lack of sleep from the other night.

Interruption 3: Saturday-Mommy have you seen my Batman?

batman-logo-theme-ek11When you hear your youngest tell Wonder Woman and Superman that Batman must be on vacation, you automatically turn into Supergirl and try to find Batman before you’re interrupted with the dreadful bat signal–“Mommy have you seen my Batman?” Even the excuse “Maybe the Joker kidnapped him,” would be destroyed by the response “I don’t own the Joker so Batman must be on vacation somewhere.”

Interruption 4: Sunday- Family Time

I will never place my family under the category of interruption because they are not. People think of interruptions with a negative connotation hovering over it. Knowing that the blizzard was coming and church services were cancelled, I was prepared for Sunday as family time. It was the only day out of my four day weekend that went according to plan. The blessing within that day was after all the board games, cookie and ice cream making, and movie viewing, I was able to get some of my reading and writing done.

Interruption 5-Letting Thine Own Self be True

I am my biggest interruption. My mind runs wild with blog and story ideas an average of one or two ideas every half an hour. I have to stop and write it down or type the blog in the moment—as I am with this article or else I forget the idea.

Everything has a way of working itself out. Although I had all those interruption for four days, the interruptions I had were welcoming and a comfortable break from my overwhelming world. This also gave me the opportunity to book a future four day getaway in a nearby hotel so I can catch up on what I couldn’t accomplish at home. This is something to anticipate and I see it as a self-reward as well.

Making time for interruptions is a great idea to put into your writing schedule. Expecting interruptions will give you the opportunity to refresh your mind as well as have a fresh pair of eyes when you ask the rest of the family “Have anyone seen the Batman?”

What are ways you prepare for interruptions? I would love to hear.

If you need help adding interruptions into your schedule for your writing/blogging journey, I can help. Contact me and mention the code PLAN from September 17-October 1, for 10% off the introductory price of my PLAN OF ACTION package.

Learn how to create a  blog in my upcoming eBook Teach Me to Blog-But, Do it Quickly.

 

About Aliefwrites

Alison enjoys writing about topics that can inspire and help others in their journey of becoming a writer or blogger. She is an editor, proofreader, writer, and graphic designer. She loves crafts and planning big event parties and is in the process of writing her sci-fi trilogy The Elements.
This entry was posted in motivation, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

